Today marks the 5th anniversary for one of the greatest teams in Alabama football history as well as Nick Saban's only undefeated season as a head coach. 

On January 7, 2010, the Alabama Crimson Tide defeated the Texas Longhorns 37-21 in the Rose Bowl for the BCS National Championship. It was Saban's first title at Alabama and the school's 13th national championship. That team also featured the Crimson Tide's only Heisman Trophy winner, running back Mark Ingram.

Since that day, the program has won two more SEC Championships and two national championships over a five year period. And despite cries of a dynasty ending, Alabama football continues to set the bar in college football thanks to the 2009 season.

To honor this group, we've dug up five facts about that national championship team for its fifth anniversary, and none of them have to do with Colt McCoy's shoulder.

  • 1

    12 players were first round NFL Draft picks

    In each of the four NFL Drafts following that national championship game included, at least two Alabama players from the 2009 team were taken in the first round.

    2010 - Rolando McClain, Kareem Jackson

    2011 - Marcell Dareus, Julio Jones, James Carpenter, Mark Ingram

    2012 - Trent Richardson, Mark Barron, Dre Kirkpatrick, Dont'a Hightower

    2013 - Chance Warmack, D.J. Fluker

    Getty Images
    Getty Images
  • 2

    31 players from that roster played at least one season in the NFL

    In addition to the first round picks, 19 other players played at least one season in the NFL, which includes a couple of players that were only on the practice squad.

    That doesn't take into account another handful of guys that went on to at least one NFL training camp following their NFL career.

  • 3

    That team produced 14 First Team All-Americans

    That 2009 had already earned a number of accolades for that national championship season, including six First Team All-Americans (Javier Arenas, Terrence Cody, Mark Ingram, Mike Johnson, Rolando McClain, Leigh Tiffin). But that team would go on to produce eight additional First Team All-Americans from 2010-2013 (Mark Barron, Dont'a Hightower, Barrett Jones, Dre Kirkpatrick, Trent Richardson, Courtney Upshaw, Chance Warmack, AJ McCarron).

  • 4

    Two opposing head coaches now work under Nick Saban

    Two of the head coaches Nick Saban defeated during the 2009 season have since taken roles on the Alabama staff. Lane Kiffin, now the offensive coordinator, lost 12-10 as the head coach of Tennessee. Mario Cristobal, now the offensive line coach, lost 40-14 as the head coach of Florida International.

  • 5

    2009 remains the only Alabama team to win 14 games in a season

    Alabama boasts one of the greatest football traditions in the country, but only once in the history of the school has a team won 14 games in a single season. That record might not stand for too long with college football seasons expanding, but it's still something that only one team out of 120 in Tuscaloosa can brag about.

    Getty Images
    Getty Images

More From Praise 93.3