General Mills Announces Voluntary Recall of Cheerios Varieties
The voluntary recall comes because of an undeclared allergen that could harm those with allergies and other wheat-related health problems.
In a press release, the breakfast giant stated,
General Mills is voluntarily recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health effects. Because this recall relates to an undeclared allergen, this is a Class I product recall.
Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company’s Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free.
General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.
Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease and for those with gluten intolerance.
If you have any questions, call General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.