American Pharoah won horse racing’s first Triple Crown in 37 years when he broke away from the field and won the Belmont Stakes in New York on Saturday. Jockey Victor Espinoza rode the Bob Baffert-trained horse to a wire-to-wire win, finishing the mile and a half in 2 minutes, 26.65 seconds (watch replay below).

Frosted finished second with Keen Ice placing third. The eight-horse field was the race’s smallest since 2007.

The victory enabled American Pharoah to complete what 13 other horses had failed to do since Affirmed in 1978, sweep the Kentucky Derby, Preakness and Belmont Stakes.

The gallant colt became the 12th Triple Crown winner in history, joining Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977) and Affirmed (1978).

Watch American Pharoah Win The Triple Crown At The 147th Belmont Stakes

More From Praise 93.3