Most Americans know the story of Emmett Till and have seen the images of his maimed head and swollen body from his funeral. According to the Associated Press, a new NBC documentary will reveal how those images helped push the civil rights effort forward.

"Hope & Fury" will premier Saturday at 8 p.m. ET (7 p.m. CST) and will reair on MSNBC Sunday at 9 p.m. ET (8 p.m. CST).

The pictures taken by Jet Magazine will appear during the documentary. Joy Reid of MSNBC said the pictures took the issue of lunching away from grainy photographs of a body hanging in the woods. Till's mother, Mamie, insisted that the photos be taken to show the public what happened to her son. NBC compares that to the actions taken by Philando Castile's girlfriend after he was shot by a Minnesota police officer.